top of page


Blidworth Welfare Band is a brass band with a strong mining heritage. The band started out in the late 19th century as the Stanton Hill Temperance Band based in Sutton in Ashfield, the band later changed their name to the Stanton Hill Silver Prize Band until the coal industry paid an interest in brass banding in general.  An alliance with the Teversal, Silver Hill and Sutton Collieries saw a name change for the band and it became the Teversal Collieries Band until the demise of those mines in the late 70’s which forced the band to relocate to Blidworth in 1980 and a name change to The Blidworth Welfare Band.


Over the years we have been supported by various companies, B J Mining, Homefires, local businessman George Aitken, Hopkins Solicitors and we now have an ongoing partnership with A W Lymn Funeral Services, we are extremely grateful for their help and commitment to the band and hope that it may continue. 

This heritage page pays tribute to players, committee members and musical directors throughout the history of the band​. With the help of the band's historian (and former Principal Cornet Player) John Halfpenny, we have been able to upload many images of the band in in the gallery below.

The band are extremely proud of our history and we now have a wonderful relationship with the Blidworth Miners Welfare where we rehearse and regularly perform events. We are very thankful for their continued support. 

Musical Directors & Conductors
Gary Perrin (Current MD)
Alan Giffo
rd (2022)
Simon Gresswell (2020-2021)

Simon Oates (2017 - 2019)
David Hirst (2017)
Martin Heartfield (2009 - 2017)
Kevin Steward (2008 - 2009)
Simon Kerwin (2008)
Malcolm Bevan (2006 & 2007)
Geoff Hawley (2003 - 2007)
Dave Fretwell (2002)
Mark Wardle (2002)
Keith Wardle (1999 - 2001)
David Hutchinson (1999)
Martin Heartfield (1998)
Don Blakeson (1997 - 1998)
Brian Grant (1993 - 1997)
Colin Toghill (1989 - 1992)
Francis Evans (1991)
Murray Slater (1990)
Dave Newman (1990)
Julie Holling (1989)
R.J. Birch (1985 - 1989)
Ken Johnson (1982 & 1985)
Brian Bunting (1985)
Alan Tyler (1983 - 1985)
David James (1980 - 1982)
Ray Farr (1981)
Stephen Shimwell (1979 - 1980)
Allan Street (1979)
Keith Wilkinson (1976 - 1978)
Stephen Shimwell (1974-1976)
A.W. Dinning (1973 - 1974)
Bernard Wilson (1972)
George Thorpe (1972)
William Lippeatt (1972)
H. Eggleshaw (1969 - 1971)
Bernard Wilson (1963 - 1969)
J. Craddock (1961 - 1962)
Fred Wilks (1959 - 1960)
R. English (1954 - 1956)
Samuel Smith (1948 - 1953 & 1958)
J.T. Parkes (1936 - 1940)
Bert Lambeth (1930 - 1933)
J.T Parkes (1928)
J.W. Byers (1926)
George Mercer (1922)
Charles Cooper (1920)

Blidworth Welfare Band has also been known previously as:

Blidworth Colliery Welfare Band, Blidworth Welfare B.J Mining Band, Blidworth Welfare (Homefire) Band, Hopkins Solicitors Blidworth Welfare Band, Stanton Hill Colliery Band, Stanton Hill Silver Band, Stanton Hill Temperance Band, Teversal Collieries Welfare Band, Teversal Colliery Band,

Blidworth Band Image Archive


bottom of page